Spring Back or Fall Forward?

Posted: October 5, 2013 in Monday Meme
Tags: , , , , , ,
Now all I need is a good book...

Now all I need is a good book…

Eek..My firsty has been crazy-busy the last few days in First Life, so we were both more than happy to hand the reins over to me for an afternoon.  I caffeinated myself, threw an outfit together, primped a little bit… and then looked blankly at myself in the mirror asking, “Well, now what?”  (I cannot tell a lie, my actual question contained an F-bomb or two, but ‘now what’ gets the gist.)  Normally I hit the ground running when I post, as I log in with a goal or two in mind.  Today, I’ve got nothing as I didn’t so much run TO Second Life today as run AWAY from First Life.  Fortunately, when I’m feeling at loose ends, I have a few places I can seek guidance and direction…  such as Strawberry Singh’s latest meme!

Bridge over calm and peaceful waters...

Bridge over calm and peaceful waters…

I suppose I’ll start with the questions.  (“Questions, always questions!  You are so nosy, Strawberry!”)

Is autumn your favorite season? Why or why not?  I love autumn, although my reasons are a little goofy.  Growing up, I always looked forward to autumn because of what was going on: Halloween, the local Soccer league, returning to school, friday night football games, etc.  Even though most of those don’t really apply anymore, autumn is still my favorite on residual good feeling.  Plus, we get our daylight savings hour back in the fall, something I regret giving up every spring…

Do you call it Autumn or Fall?  I lean towards autumn because that just sounds right.  I do bounce between the two, however, because here in the midwest most people call it fall.  Plus fall lends itself to better puns…

This secluded pond and waterfall didn't seem very fall-like, but did seem beautiful....

This secluded pond and waterfall didn’t seem very fall-like, but did seem beautiful….

What kind of weather does your area get during this season? What weather don’t we get during this season?  I live in southwest Ohio, an area where several weather patterns meet and merge.  (Which means the meteorologists here have a built-in excuse for when they are wrong…)  Hot, cold, rain, snow, fog, wind, cloudy, clear… in a typical fall, we get them all.  (See, there I used the word fall for the rhyme.  “In a typical autumn, all those we got ’em” would have rhymed too, but not sounded nearly as good…)  The joke in this region is that if you don’t like the weather, wait fifteen minutes and it will change.  That’s an exaggeration, of course, but when you mix the region’s natural variability with the transitory nature of autumn you really do get weather that is all over the place.  I love variety, however, so I think you chalk that up as another reason why I love autumn.

Which color do you always associate with autumn?  Orange.  Not the bright orange of a pumpkin or a tangerine, but the orange of the leaves, slightly mottled with yellow and red.

Which Autumn themed sim is your favorite at the moment?  I’m not sure if I actually have one- just as my favorite book is one I’m currently reading and my favorite song is one I’m currently listening to, my favorite sim tends to be the one I’m at.  I found the sim for today’s pictures by doing an SL  search for autumn, and this site, Natural Wilderness, was at the top of the list for most visited.  I can understand why, it’s beautiful and has a lot of couple friendly pose props, so it would be a nice place for an SL date.

Yep, that's the color I was looking for!

Yep, that’s the color I was looking for!

And I’ll finish with one of my favorite subjects: me!  Today, I’m wearing the ‘turquoise kitty’ outfit from Virtual Attire.  It’s most of what I’m wearing, including the ears and tail, the boots, the gloves and arm warmers, the stockings and garters.  I picked the Calla ImSoPlayful hair in dark brown because it matched the tail nicely.  I also added my nose piercing and a belly button ring that came from a set of silks from Roawenwood.  My shape today is the Meyko from Egoxentrikax and the skin is an ‘Arabian Princess’ skin that was included in Fierce Arabian Princess costume I picked up during my Gift Card bonanza at Fierce Designs earlier in the week.  (Side note: I spent all my Fierce Design gift cards, and in less than a week I’ve acquired another 350 L$ in Fierce gift cards… Beware another impending shopping frenzy!)

Leave a Reply

