Life in the Express Lane…

Posted: October 26, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Let me start by saying I was a slacker on Wednesday night, and I loved every glorious minute of it.

Just waiting for inspiration to strike...

Just waiting for inspiration to strike…

I had a rare block of time where I was completely free to be me, mad little blogger that I am, with no obligations to log into First Life for the entire evening.  I blogged, a cute little Scottish Highlander costume, and I was torn as to whether I would put together a second blog entry or work on a story idea that came to me earlier in the week.  Instead I went down to the Carnal Oasis and shook my kilt and my can-can with wild abandon.  I had mad fun, and I haven’t had the opportunity to really dance and be social for a while, so I’m not feeling guilty.  Quite the reverse.  I feel more alive and more ‘me’ than I have for a while, and I even won the event costume contest so I made back some of the money I spent on tipping the DJ and the dancers.  I’m ready to accelerate back into the chaos of my schedule again.

This is going to seem like a tangent, but I have a plan to draw all the threads together- I visited the WordPress Daily Prompt today, and this is what it told me:  Tell us about a time you couldn’t quite get your words or images to express what you wanted to express. What do you think the barrier was? For bonus points, try again.  Photographers, artists, poets: show us EXPRESSION.  For once, the photographer/poet portion of the prompt was what caught my attention.  I was expressing myself all over the dance floor last night, and now I want to talk about gestures.

A wink's as good as a nod to a blind Monty Python fan...

A wink’s as good as a nod to a blind Monty Python fan…

For those readers who have stumbled across my little blog from First Life rather than Second Life, gestures can be thought of as the big fancy-pants brothers of emoticons.  In First Life, a gesture is, by definition, a physical motion to express a thought or add emphasis.  Second Life gestures also express thoughts or add emphasis, but are a mixture of chat message, sound effects, and brief animations.  The gestures I use most often are clubbing gestures, expressions of how I am enjoying dancing and music and fun while I go out.  E.g., my ‘Awesome Tunes’ gesture from SHUP BISH commands the DJ to “▒๒▒♬▒  Ԍiㅆㅆiℇ ㅆoŖℇ oƒ セҺoŠℇ Ą௰єŠoㅆℇ Ƭ∪ɳєŠ!!!   ▒♬▒๒▒” in both text and voice.  From ~ALWAYS~, my DJ Movin gesture announces “This D.J. Getz Me Moving” again in both voice and text.  (~ALWAYS~ didn’t show up in a market place search, and the creator name, Cheyanne Luik, came up with nothing for sale, so I’m not sure if Always is still around and doing business.)  When I’m feeling very wicked or flirty, I also have a SHUP BISH gesture that announces, ” ::[♫]::☞ ʈҺוs ɖʝ мąᴋєѕ ɱє ωąททą ɖŕõթ му թąทʈs ąทɖ ʈõแᴄҺ ɱуsєւƒ ☜::[♫]::”

Of course, I also have a bratty, flirty sense of humor.  (You’re shocked.  I can tell.)  So I’ve also accumulated quite a few silly gestures.  Many came from Bedlam Inc., (no marketplace presence, but they did have this SLurl), where I picked up a pack of Monty Python gestures, such as quoting “Yes, well, that’s the sort of blinkered, Philistine pig-ignorance I’ve come to expect from you non-creative garbage.” (and the voice component shows I can do a much better John Cleese imitation than you would expect!), and three packs of cat related gestures for talking to, by, or about nekos, such as Adam West quotes about Catwoman from the classic Sixty’s Batman sit-com.  (Aside: Neko is the japanese word for cat, and also used to describe the cutesy girls with feline features from Anime.)  I think my favorite ‘silly’ gesture, also from ~ALWAYS~, is the simple declaration that “If it has tires or testicles, it’s going to give you problems.”

I said Sell!  Sell!

I said Sell! Sell!

While we’re talking about expressing one self, we should also talk facial expressions.  Like most of us on Second Life, I have an excellent poker face, a standard expression of mildly happy bemusement and few involuntary tells.  Indeed, like an aging actress with a few too many botox treatments, our facial expressions require an active effort.  A good pose or animation includes the facial expression, and there are also various HUDs of facial expressions we can use.  For example, all my pictures in today’s gallery have included expressions from ‘the Bitch Face AO HUD’ from Virtual Attire.  (The expressions haven’t seemed particularly bitchy to me, but the AO was part of ‘The Bitch Complete Avatar’ so maybe they are bitchier with the proper skin and outfit…)  Specifically, I’ve been bored, winking, frowning, and toothily smiling.  No particular reason, just because I can.

That's right, I'm happy and I know it!

That’s right, I’m happy and I know it!

And of course, another way I express myself is my fashion sense.  I’d promised nothing but costumes between now and Halloween, and I keep my word.  This Wonder Woman costume, complete with glowing bracers and magic lasso, comes from [A&k] designs.  The skin is Vodka from Egoxentrikax and the hair is Calla again, the ImSoElegant in Black Frost.  The costume didn’t include any shoes, so I added some stockings from Alloro and my beloved red leather kicks from Prozak. I definitely feel ready to go knock on some doors and get some candy… Do I have to wait?

Comments
  1. […] 2:  DC Comics vs. Linden Labs.  In my last post, (just a few hours ago as I write this, probably yesterday by the time I finish and publish […]

Leave a Reply

