Avoidance is the new resolution…

Posted: November 3, 2013 in Writing Prompt
Tags: , , , , , ,

Today’s WordPress daily prompt made me chuckle.  Here’s what it asked:   You’re in the middle of a terrible argument, and everyone turns to you to help resolve it. How do you respond? How do you react to conflict?

Um, yeah.  How DO you caption a picture like this one?

Um, yeah. How DO you caption a picture like this one?

Now if you’ve been following my blog for any length of time, you will have noticed I’m basically a solitary wanderer.  I’m generally the only one in my snapshots.  And if I manage to spend some time chatting in world with a fellow blogger or make it to a club event with lots of people, that is a rare enough event that I’m all excited and bubbly about it.  My point: I’m not around terrible arguments.  I don’t have an everyone who can turn to me.  My biggest regret in second life is that my irregular schedule prevents some of the more social activities in my bucket list: SL-LARPing, getting a job as a club dancer, getting involved in an SL play or machinama production.  And it is a regret, but I’m well aware of the silver lining to that cloud.  Since I’m on my own, I dodge the drama and the grief-ing and the to-do.  And believe me, I’m o.k. with that.

Check out those scenic peaks.  (The ones in the background, silly!)

Check out those scenic peaks. (The ones in the background, silly!)

There’s a classic saying, “Lead, follow, or get out of the way.”  I’m all about get out of the way.  I’m a horrible follower.  I’m confident in my own judgement and intelligence, so I take the steps I feel are right for the situation and treat any laws, regulations, orders, social conventions, etc, that may apply as guidelines.  I’m a so-so leader.  I’ve got that whole intelligence and judgement thing in my favor, but because I don’t respond well to directives, I don’t give orders well, either.  On a chain of command, I’m ideally suited to be an consultant: somewhere off to the side, using the intelligence and judgement to advise someone else on how best to realize their goals, but ultimately working with the theoretical and hypothetical rather than the actual nitty-grittiness of reality.  (When I open my own T-shirt shop, one of the first ones is going to say “Reality: It’s a great place to visit, but I wouldn’t want to live there…”) 

 So how would I respond to this terrible conflict?  Probably vanish to someplace quieter and wait for it to blow over.  If asked, I’ll cheerfully discuss with any of the participants in the conflict one-on-one.  My advice will be pretty reasonable, and if the parties involved are interested in resolving their conflict, will probably help them do so by separating the core issues from the trivial and tangent ones and by putting some perspective in place.  And if they don’t want my advice, that’s fine, just keep their argument out of my way, thank you very much…

What's love got to do, got to do with it?

What’s love got to do, got to do with it?

But enough about conflict, let’s talk about clothes!  I had so much fun dressing up as a busty bride for Halloween, I decided to do it again!  I kept the Candy skin from WoW Skins since I already had my Lolas matched.  The dress this time was the Silver Wedding Dress from Everwynd Studios.  The veil wasn’t included, but I had another (part of a wedding outfit, source unknown, with a creator named ‘Agent Case’.  Anyone know who that is/was?) so I was covered.  I did change my shape to the JeannieSmallBCup from Alady Island.  (Although, once I add the Lolas, the name ‘small B cup’ is really a misnomer.  Just saying.)  For hair, I chose the Honey Dipper in red from Rosy Mood.  And since I didn’t change my skin, I tweaked it with some tattoo layer adjustments: some freckles that were with an outfit from *avd*, some lip color from [DUMB BLOND], and a facial tattoo from Grumble, Grumble.  I’m pretty happy with how I look, the only downside is it makes feel the wedding bug all that much more…

Leave a Reply

