Curled Up With A Good Book

Posted: November 6, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

“Your shoes don’t match,” said Mr. Abernathy to Samuel.

“I know.  I couldn’t decide which pair to wear so I wore one of each.”

Last night I started rereading The Gates by John Connolly.  I think this is the fourth time I’ve read the book, and it is an awesome book.  It’s one of those books where every few pages you have to go and tap someone on the shoulder, tell them “listen to this,” and read a brief excerpt that makes you smile.  Intended for kids, the book nevertheless has deep philosophical themes and a dry narrative wit that should enthrall any thinking grownup as well.  It reminds me of Terry Pratchett at his best, and that is a very high bar to set.

Yep, I picked my outfit to match the book… I'm such a geek girl!

Yep, I picked my outfit to match the book… I’m such a geek girl!

For my outfit, I wanted to stay in my ‘basic punky Emily’ mood and also have a pair of mismatched shoes.  Since I have leather kicks by Prozak in both Red (my faves, as we well know) and Black, I wore one of each.  Once again, I fished through my inventory to find some ripped stockings.  (Side note: why are ripped fishnets considered punk?  Does anyone know?).  The camo mini dress is from *avd*.  To accessorize, I have metal colored neko ears and tail from Virtual Attire, sleeve tattoos of music bars and clef from Cricket’s, rose tattoo on my breast from Prozak, ‘#1’ tattooed on my cheek by Method of Destruction, and red, white, and blue bangles from Grumble.  My shape is the Melissa from *JStyle, and looking through old boxes in my inventory I found a box labeled ‘FREE FULL SET OF AFRICAN WOMAN SKIN’, so this is the Lou from Tuty’s.  (It  doesn’t really show up in my photos, but my Animation Override is also from Tuty’s and I love it, love it, love it.  Consider this an unsolicited endorsement!)  Last but not least, the purple and black hair is out of a complete Neko avatar set from Vip’s Corner.

Anyway, the scientists figured, if the end of the world did happen, there wouldn’t be anyone left to blame them.  There would probably be just enough time for someone to say, “Hey, you said it wouldn’t cause the end of–” before there was a bit of a bang and then silence.  Scientists, while very intelligent, don’t always think things through.

Sitting out in the sun with a good book… one of the simple joys.

Sitting out in the sun with a good book… one of the simple joys.

So I knew instantly in my mind the picture I wanted to take: an elegant English library room, lots of dark wood furniture and leather bound books.  Sitting in an expensive-looking chair with red satin cushions.  Maybe with an antique globe on an end table next to be.  Posed reading the book.  Only problem: I don’t have any of it, so I went wandering in search of books and libraries.  It was interesting ramble, but as you can see from this gallery, I didn’t find the set that was in my mind.  Still, I did find a sim called Book Island, where I sat in and listened to an amateur reading of Shakespeare’s Antony and Cleopatra, which was different and cool.  And it lets me link to another cool passage from The Gates

In school, everything Shakespeare wrote starts to seem like a tragedy, even the ones that aren’t tragedies, which is a bit unfortunate, but that’s just because of the way they’re taught.  Stick with them.  In later life, people will be impressed that you can quote Shakespeare, and you will sound very intelligent.  It’s harder to quote trigonometry, or quadratic equations, and not half as romantic.

Can I get a tattoo of a book?

Can I get a tattoo of a book?

Still, all in all, today has been a good day.  I got to read, I got to wander and ramble, and I got to listen to a reading of about three acts worth of Shakespeare.  I even finished the day at a tattoo shop, looking over their wares.  I hope everyone has been as content as I have today.  Oh, and I hope that nobody has to go off to the depths of hell today…

“But I don’t want to go to the depths of Hell!”

Nobody wants to go to the depths of Hell.  I’m a demon and even I don’t want to go there.  That’s the point, isn’t it?  If I told you that I was going to take you for a nice holiday, or on a trip to the zoo, it wouldn’t be much of a threat, would it?”

 

Leave a Reply

