Blogging in a Winter Wonderland

Posted: December 4, 2013 in Monday Meme
Tags: , , ,
Skate or die, dudes!

Skate or die, dudes!

By now, we all know one of my favorite weekly rituals is seeing what questions Strawberry is asking in her Monday Meme.  Having flipped the calendar to December (Already?!?  Where did my 2013 go?), it’s time to think about winter.

  • What is the December/Winter season like where you live? I live in Southwest Ohio, so weather here is extremely variable, all year round.  Some winters are mild with only a few chilly days.  Some winters are a frozen mess of ice and slush.  The most common winter day, however, is probably one that is cold and windy and bleak.
  • When you think of winter, what’s the first thing that pops into your head? Christmas!
Skating is exhausting, I'll just sit and rest for a while...

Skating is exhausting, I’ll just sit and rest for a while…

  • Have you ever played any extreme winter sports? Yes and no.  I’ve never played any “extreme winter sports”, per se.  However I’ve played extreme sports in winter… paint balling in the woods behind the abandoned middle school near my godfather’s house.  I’ve also played sports in extreme winter, soccer and street hockey when the tempature was below freezing and school was cancelled due to treacherous road conditions.
  • What do you like most about this season? Playing in the snow, if it’s a good snow.  Too many snows are worthless to play in.  Too powdery to pack.  Too slushy.  Just a dusting that looks pretty.  Maybe one snow in six, if that, is actually a good playing snow… but then it is game on!  Snowball fights.  Sledding.  Snow Angels.  More Snowball fights.  (Fun trick for snowball fights… leave the electric snowblower plugged in and lying around the corner of the house.  Get the neighbor kids chasing you as you volley back and forth.  The look on their faces when they round the corner and get a face full of blown snow is priceless!  Just saying.)
'Tis the season to be chilly….

‘Tis the season to be chilly….

  • Do you celebrate Christmas, Hannukkah, Kwanzaa or another holiday during this time of year?  Christmas.  It’s a bitter sweet time of year.  I enjoy the premises, both the religious premise of a savior coming amidst us to guide us and teach us, and the secular premise of Santa bringing gifts and encouraging families to gather together.  However, I’ve also lost people I’ve loved over Christmases past and the holidays always underscore how much I miss them.

So, a cute Christmas story.  I work with a waitress named Libby whose family goes ultra-overboard on Christmas every year.  Garish Christmas sweaters.  Deluging everybody they know with baked goods.  (O.K., that part’s not so bad.)  Enough blinking lights that you can see their house from orbit.  Sure, they are fanatical for a good thing, but fanaticism makes me uncomfortable, even if it is on my side.  The other day, Libby was griping because one of the hostesses had used blue marker on the dry erase board where we post the daily specials.  “I mean, it’s Christmas.  I did the edges of the board last night like a wreath.  The hostesses should know to do the specials board in red and green.”

(You may be wondering since I’m a self-confessed liar writer, but I’m not making this up.  That’s the great thing about my life, material like this just happens right in front of me…)

Since I can never resist a chance to stir the pot, I pointed out that I’ve seen several tasteful holiday displays in blue and silver.  I was making a subtle dig at Libby’s house which is red and green and flashing and loud, but Libby went in a slightly different direction, sneering that blue and silver was for Hannukkah, and that red and green was ‘official’ for Christmas.  My reply was “Don’t be getting anti-Semitic on me, Libby.  Some of my best saviors are Jewish.”

Libby just stopped in her tracks and stared at me for about ten seconds.  I wish I had a photo of her expression.

I'm ready for a snowball fight!

I’m ready for a snowball fight!

Oh, and the obligatory credits for my winter look… My shape is “WinterGoddessPlusSize” from AladyIsland.  My skin is Moonlight skin from WoW Skins.  My hair actually came with the cap, which was included with the sweater dress from Fierce Designs.  The scripted ice skates were also from Fierce.  The dress was a little short (generally a plus) so I added some source unknown leg warmers and stockings from Sugar Emporium to keep the chill off my legs.

Comments
  1. Ok your Christmas story about Libby made me laugh out loud, I wish you had a photo of her expression as well, would love to have seen it.

Leave a Reply

