A Christmas Postcard

Posted: December 15, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,
After it freezes, is the past still so much water under the bridge?

After it freezes, is the past still so much water under the bridge?

Dear Santa,

I came here to the Christmas Postcard display on the Slightly Twisted sim, to try to put myself into more of a Christmas spirit.  My firsty and I are feeling, well, a bit frazzled is the best way to put it, and we desperately need to recapture the magic of the season.  I know, Santa, rush, rush, rush is the order of the season.  And I do see the irony of the fact that I’m whining about how I have too much to do and too little time to do it in to a man who has to keep track of approximately 1.83 billion children’s behavior and then deliver tons of presents and coal in a single night.  On the other hand, like any successful CEO, much of your work is delegation and just making sure the elves and the computers complete their projects on time and on target.

Curled up with a good book...

Curled up with a good book…

It’s telling, Santa, that my life is so upside down that I’m spending a rare bit of leisure time taking pictures of myself pretending to read while my list of books to actually read continues to grow faster than I can pare it down.  Still, I did manage to finish Mortal Coils by Eric Nyland this week.  I don’t know if you are a reader, Santa.  You are traditionally portrayed as more of a craftsman who relaxes in his shop, and since you wear glasses, I assume your eyes aren’t what they used to be.  Still, I do have to recommend this book as a gift idea for any teen readers who enjoyed the exploits of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, and/or Tiffany Aking.

Still reading, I'm not done with that book yet!

Still reading, I’m not done with that book yet!

I intended to write the traditional Christmas post card, a list of things I want.  (“I want a pony, and a red rider BB gun, and a Y-Box 720, and a light saber, and a redhead with loose morals and tight clothing…”)  Honestly, however, there isn’t that much I can ask for.  Yes, I always enjoy pretty new clothes and hair and skins and shapes, but I’m a young, self-reliant, liberated woman with a shopping addiction and a credit card.  I already have hundreds of outfits that I haven’t worn yet, ranging from cosplay to slutty to elegant… As fun as it is to open up boxes on Xmas day, I can’t really justify asking for more outfits.

This would be the segue way point for brief tangent about what I’m wearing today.  The outfit is called ‘random sunshine’ and it is a super cute neko outfit, complete with pink super fluffy tail, from Virtual Attire.  The pinkness, the neko tail, the bright summery colors all typify the sort of cute I love.  The shortness of the skirt and the fact that the shirt is pretty much a bright pink corset add some slutty to the outfit.  The spikiness of the boots helps punk me up.  My hair today, the Foxi from Tameless Hair, is also pretty punk.  A mohawk with a colored streak hanging down in front, the hair is scripted so that the hair and the streak can both color change.  ‘Random sunshine’ is pretty much all I’m wearing today.. the only other item I’m wearing is a source unknown lip ring I often wear.  The shape today is the Laury from *JStyle and the skin is Tessa from WoW.  I now return you to the regularly scheduled post card…

Look closely.  I left boot prints on the water surface.  How cool is that?

Look closely. I left boot prints on the water surface. How cool is that?

When I said Santa that I intended to write you my gimme list, I actually mean I started one.  I’ve spent most of my time since I last posted logged into First Life, working doubles in my firsty’s restaurants, but in the dribs and drabs of time I could steal, I started a rough draft post card to you and took the pictures I’m using with this post.  When I woke up this morning, however, the only part of my draft that I felt I could keep was the ‘dear santa’ and the pictures.  Reading what I had written, I sounded whiny, tired, self-absorbed, and full of self-pity.  It’s a pretty accurate assessment of how I’ve felt the past few days, but definitely not the side of me I want to share, definitely not the Christmas spirit I want to be in.

This morning my firsty awoke from a good night’s sleep and looked out the window at a post card perfect day.  Pristine white snow draped across the ground like a blanket, bright sun shine reflecting off the snow, a few pine trees mixed among the leafless oaks and sycamores standing sentry at the back of his apartment complex.  His mood is satisfied and content, and I’ve definitely caught that mood from him.  I’ve located the sense of peace this morning that I’ve been missing all week.  Yes, Christmas is coming, now only ten days away, and my firsty and I are both behind on our preparations.  So what?  It’s been a good year.  I have friends and loved ones, and I am loved and befriended in turn.  Through blogging, I’ve rediscovered a sense of purpose and excitement, and don’t have as many days where I feel like I am treading water at best and going under at worst.  I’ve learned that I have probably unknowingly sabotaged myself in the past with my ADD, and between awareness and cautious medication, I’m in a better position to move forward with my life goals.  My life and my firsty’s life are both better now than they were six months or a year ago, and I have reason to be confident about 2014 and beyond.

I'll just rest for a little bit, OK?

I’ll just rest for a little bit, OK?

It is real easy, Santa, to get caught up in presents and pressures and schedules and events and this and that and the other.  But sometimes you have to stop and force yourself to smell the roses, to appreciate how good life is.  You have to recharge yourself, rediscover your center, and refocus your priorities.  Christmas isn’t about the presents we receive.  It isn’t even about the presents we give.  Christmas is about what those gifts symbolize: love, family, forgiveness, the desire to have right relationships with the people we share our lives with.  And when you are- when I am- any of us are wrapped up in being tired and frazzled and whiny, we miss that point.

So thank you, Santa, for stopping by a little early this year, and whispering some perspective in my ears while I slept last night.  The traditional post card message is “I wish you were here”; the traditional Christmas post card message is “I hope you come soon (and bring me presents)”.  My post card, however, is a thank you for waking up with refreshed perspective.  I hope you can grant a similar sense of peace and perspective to every one else on your list (even the naughty ones).  Thank you again.

Lovingly,

Emily.

P.S. I know you are really busy this time of year, so if you want to delegate bringing my present to any cute, single elves you have working for you, I can make that work out.

Leave a Reply

