The “Who’s Your Favorite Tool” Meme

Posted: January 28, 2014 in Monday Meme
Tags: , , , , , ,

Strawberry Singh is a tool.  Wait, can I word that a little differently…

Which is lovelier: the sunset or me?

Which is lovelier: the sunset or me?

Hear me out.  The definition of a tool is a device or implement that is used to carry out a specific function.  In fact, the insulting slang definition of ‘tool’, a moron or cretin, evolved from the concept of a person who was just being used by others and didn’t even have the self-awareness to know that.  Now because I am a smart-ass (still better than a dumb-ass!) I couldn’t resist the gratuitous insult, trusting that Strawberry will know I’m just being a brat.  After all, we all learned recently that Strawberry actually finds brattiness to be a turn-on….  Although the instructions for the Helpful Tools meme, “Meme Instruction: Share a screenshot of your viewer setup and/or a list of tools/HUDS you guys use to make your Second Life experiences better. Don’t forget to leave a comment in this post with a link so we can all come and stalk you. If you share a screenshot, feel free to share them in the Blog Memes flickr group.” clearly implied tools that exist within Second Life, the two items I find most helpful in my Second Life experiences are a pair of fellow blogs.

So although Strawberry isn’t actually a tool, her blog-site StrawberrySingh.com is a tool by definition.  The specific function I use it for is to help inspire me and find topics.  The Monday Meme is the strongest, easiest to find example of that, but StrawberrySingh.com has also given me places to go (her Friday Find posts and the Monday Meme last year where we were all asked for five links to cool places with in SL.), advice and examples on improving my meager photographic skills, and suggestions on devices and fashions I should acquire in my shopping exploits.

Is there anything better than sitting on the porch with a mug of Irish coffee?

Is there anything better than sitting on the porch with a mug of Irish coffee?

Similarly, I’m also inspired by the WordPress Daily Post.  Primarily again as a trigger to start my stream of consciousness flowing, although I also feed the single keyword into SL’s search engine because you can find some interesting places to visit that way.

As far as HUDs and other SL devices, I don’t necessarily have any must-have, brilliant, super devices to share.  (A thought that makes me sad.)    Most of the HUD’s I use I consider adequate to good, but I don’t have the courage/motivation/know-how to pop them open and see if I can tweak them to greatness.  For example I have multiple HUDS loaded with dance-animations so that I’m prepared to dance at a moment’s notice.  But I don’t consider any of them great for two reasons.  Firstly, I don’t think I can (maybe I can, remember I haven’t taken them apart to find out) load them with additional dances to make a dance list I love.  Secondly, most dance venues have freely available dance animations, and the dance board at my favorite club, Carnal Oasis, is better than most.  Until/unless I find a dance-HUD that I prefer to use over the dancing I can do without said HUD, I can’t really bring myself to call it great or tout it to friends and followers.

I can dance if I want to, I can leave your friends behind...

I can dance if I want to, I can leave your friends behind…

Likewise, I generally wear the “Boobies Pose Hud” which I found as a freebie or cheapie at one of the various fashion boutiques catering to the Lolas and Phat Azz crowd.  It has its plusses: 111 poses, all of which keep the hands away from the chest so that if you are wearing a mesh chest, you aren’t posing for photos with your hands or arms sticking into/through your cleavage.  But it also has some annoying minuses.  The names of the poses are non-helpful names like ‘b#63’, so the only way to find a pose is to cycle through until you find one you like.  Also the poses don’t seem to be calibrated to the ground.  About two-thirds of the poses are standing poses, which generally work out all right.  But most of the poses that would involve sitting or lying seem to either leave you floating in mid-air or buried under the floor.  And I don’t know how to either delete them for being silly useless poses or to edit them, either by adjusting the actual pose or temporarily adjusting my relationship with the floor.  So it is an OK tool, better I guess than not having it, but hardly anything I feel excited about or want to recommend to friends and followers.

Case in point: Pose b#22, creepily floating in midair...

Case in point: Pose b#22, creepily floating in midair…

I can tout and recommend my AO.  I’d tried several AO’s in my time, most basic, minimal AO’s.  Since I found TuTy’s, I have stayed cheerfully locked into this one.  My AO is a 3-in-1 model.  The default is “Brooklyn Girl”, a brash and confident set of animations, but I can also switch off to “Shy Girl” when I want to be a little more demure and quiet or “Sexy Drunk” when I want to move like I’ve been clubbing all night.  The marketplace description also implied I can load dances into the AO and notecards with some of the other TuTy’s animation sets, but again, I haven’t screwed up my courage to try, particularly since I worry my courage may not be all that gets screwed up.  (That said, I already have some other TuTy’s AO’s I’m eying… Barbarella, which is a set of animations for a robot or doll-girl; Girl Child, because I do often let my inner child out;  of course as I look them over, I can’t see any sets that I don’t want.)  Although the Tuty’s AO’s make it harder to take pictures for my blog- they make me move more unless I’m sitting on a pose ball or piece of animated furniture, and even then they keep me a little twitchy and restless- the smoothness and personality within the animations helps keep me properly in my mindset and out of my firsty’s mindset, which is kind of a big deal since although my personality overlaps his in many ways, the differences are kind of crucial.

Otherwise, I have a take-it-or-leave-it attitude with my HUDs.  Even the ones I take, I’m not sure how much is I choose to take them and how much is I’m too lazy/disorganized to throw them in the trash.  Which does a lot to explain why the first things to come to mind when I think of tools I use in my second life are the other blogs that help me feel inspired and motivated rather than the various strays that clutter up my HUD…  I’ll admit I’m actually looking forward to scouting the tools other bloggers use to see if I can get some good ideas/fun toys out of this week’s meme.

Galadhon Park is GORGEOUS!

Galadhon Park is GORGEOUS!

Closing Thoughts: My outfit this post was built around the ‘Thousand Voices’ dress from La Petit Chat, Trinity Yazimoto’s wonderful little boutique.  The pink mini-dress, pink arm band, and the pink ivy tattoo on my leg are all part of the outfit.  The dress actually comes with multiple tattoos, so that you can tattoo your arm, your chest, your leg, or just some of the above.  I didn’t use the chest and arm tattoos because they would have clashed with my SucideGirl.Kisses skin, a pale skin with built in tattoos.  (I believe URCo is the abbreviation for a now-defunct business where I found this skin in a hunt, but I don’t know and my attempts to research in marketplace turned up empty so this skin is officially ‘source unknown’.)  My shape is AladyJessicaAlba, an attempt by Alady Island to match the shape and figure of Jessica Alba.  (I dunno.  I’m not reminded of Jessica Alba when I look at myself, but I wouldn’t be.)  My hair is another Tameless Hair, the Despina, which I picked partly because of the color change headband, which I set to pink to match my dress.  I bought the Despina in the blues and greens fantasy color set, but the bright green nicely fits the whole brightly-colored-punk motif I feel I have going on with this outfit.  Keeping up the bright colors, I accessorized with Vaded, a set of earrings, necklace, and lip piercings from Ellabella, and Blue Ice Creme Lipstick from [DUMB BLOND].  I’m also wearing a razor wire bangle from Grumble, Grumble and black stiletto boots from JStyle.

Also, I used Strawberry as a tool in one more way for this post.  I learned about Calas Galadhon Park from her recent posts, so I came to their sims to take my pictures for this post.  I played with my pose hud and with wind lights, I wandered around like the tourist I am and took selfies.  I’m REALLY pleased with how they came out…

Comments
  1. You know you are absolutely right, I DO find brattiness to be a turn on lol. But let’s just keep that our secret. 😛 You can never go wrong with pictures at Calas. Thank you for listing me as a tool, I take that as a huge compliment! ❤

Leave a Reply

