The Landmark Study

Posted: April 20, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

WHAT I’M WEARING: I wanted to go a little exotic today, and still be goth-y.  Here’s my style card:

  • Shape: Gigi Teen (Kids5B)
  • Skin: Music is Life (Kre-ations).  (A pale purple skin with tattoos of notes and clefs.  Very cool, and the unusual color is much of today’s exoticness.)
  • Hair: Wallflowers Pwn Bun without Bangs– Castlevania (Geek.)  accessorized with USB Dreadlocks, also from Geek.  (One of my impulse buys at Block 100 last post.  Poor impulse control is one of my virtues…)
  • Outfit: Catgirl skulls & roses jumpsuit (Dreamz)
  • Exotic Body Parts: Large Horns and Faun Tail (Virtual Attire.)  (These are out of the Pure Fantasy outfit.)
  • Jewelry: Red Rose Cuffs (Grumble, Grumble) (Also from Block 100.), Lip Ring (source unknown.), Pink Chain Necklace (Pekka).

WHERE I’M AT: Hopping from place to place.  It seems like every time you go some place or buy some thing, you end up with another landmark.  So I’m trying to clear out redundant, out-of-date, and just not-appealing land marks.  So each picture in this gallery is from a different location I’m keeping a land mark for.  With each picture, I’m including a taxi.  Normally my issue is too many plans and not enough time, but I have a cluttered enough inventory that when I steal time for quick writes (all I seem to have time for at the moment) this gives me an immediate quick thing to work upon…

WHAT’S ON MY MIND: Apparently my firsty and I are going through another bout of mutual envy, each of us jealous of life on the other side of our First Life computer game interface.  He juggles a lot of cares against our shared love of writing and stories; he envies me the carefree life I live.  Many of his cares and responsibilities stem from the relationships he has with people around him, however, and I am jealous of those relationships… Apparently we both want it all: love, family, security, writing, respect, freedom, faith, great sex, rock n’ roll, et cetera.  Life, however, is all about setting priorities, since people have unlimited wants, but only finite resources of time, money, and energy to spend for those wants.  I suppose I should find it depressing, since First Life has taught me that I would be dissatisfied no matter what, that if I lived a hypothetical life with my priorities altered I would still leave some key and primal wants unfulfilled.  Instead I find it ironic that it is even possible for two alter egos to be jealous of each other.  I also find it strangely affirming.  I’ve learned that if I weren’t who I am, I would wish I was, and that is affirming knowledge.

WHAT’S ON MY RADIO: The usual random mix of stuff, such as In the Real World by the Alan Parsons Project, The Middle by Jimmy Eat World, and Istanbul (Not Constantinople) by They Might Be Giants.  (I love the animated cartoon music video for Istanbul, by the way.  It’s tiny.  It’s toony.  It’s really very loony….)

 

Leave a Reply

