Don’t Argue With the Queen of Thrifty Bitches!

Posted: June 10, 2014 in Sponsor Posts
Tags: , , , , ,

Hey peoples!  I’ve wrested control of my own blog back from my firsty.  I’d love to respond to his post, but I’m also a freelance fashion blogger and work is what keeps my closet full of pretty things to wear.  My sponsor-boss, Allie Munro, handed me an assignment to cover Thrift Shop 5, and I am stoked.  I had a great time (i.e. I spent more than I could afford) when I covered Thrift Shop 4 and when I covered Thrift Shop 3 so I’m fully expecting to have a good time (and spend more lindens) at Thrift Shop 5.  As always, the first step to covering a fashion event is to play dress up, and Allie graciously gifted me with a few of the items that will be for sale at the event.  I pondered, I rummaged, I tried on a few things… Finally I was ready to go and whistled for a taxi.

It's a sign of the times...

It’s a sign of the times…

And whistled.  And whistled.  As I write this, it’s still Saturday and the event begins on Sunday June 8th.  By my hand, you can see the sign promises twenty-two days of sales and gachas.  I’m twitching slightly because I’m not actually sure what that means.  Depending on whether you count June 8th as Day One or Day Zero, you can argue the sign means the event will run until the 29th or the 30th.  I feel like verbal precision argues towards the 29th, but that event organizers probably really mean the 30th, particularly since ‘end of the month’ is a logical stopping point.  In truth, it doesn’t really matter much unless you procrastinate coming down until Jun 30th, which I strongly recommend against.  But I’m still twitching because it’s distracting to me not to know when the event ends, even though the pertinent point was that it hasn’t yet begun.

So it’s a good time to write out my style card while I’m waiting…

  • Shape: Teen Katie (wk 14) (Cukabebe) For 1 Linden on marketplace, I got a teen shape, not too different from the one I think of as default, and forty shapes that gradually make the pregnancy more pronounced.  Now that word is out that Firsty and Mrs. Firsty are expecting, I’m toying with the idea of carrying a pregnancy right along side Mrs. Firsty.
  • Skin: Pink Butterfly Tan (Esk-Imo)
  • Hair: Streetslut Red Hair (out of a complete avatar outfit from Fetishdoll)
  • Thrift Shop 5 Items: Drama Queen Tube Top (and sleeves), Womens Boho Skirt in Teal.  (Both from Grumble, of course!)
  • Other Grumble Items: Dangly Beaded Earrings, Pink sheer stockings, Super High Red Stilettos.
  • Non Grumble Accessories: Luck of the Irish Leg Tattoo (GrungeInk), Panther/Dragon/Tribal Tattoo (source unknown), Cute Poison Bitch Necklace (Group gift from Desir),  Nose ring (source unknown), Bikini Upper (WoW freebie) (because otherwise I’m a little too racy…)

I whistle once again for a taxi, but it’s still too early.  So I figure I’ll distract myself with the ‘Suck It’ Hunt

I was gonna say something dirty about the Suck It Hunt here… but you can fill in the blanks yourself...

The Suck It Hunt… I’ll just let you fill in the blank here yourself…

Despite the dirty name, (I love dirty names and innuendos, by the way) the Suck It Hunt is actually a search for twenty popsicles hidden around the Grumble Sim, each a dollarbie with a unisex gift or a pair of gifts, one male, one female.  The link I gave you above connects to a list of clues, but even with clues this is a semi-tricky hunt… be prepared to spend a lot of time looking at all the cool stuff for sale in this sim while you look for the gifts.  I found four of the twenty and made a mental note to comeback for the rest, but finally I was able to whistle up my taxi to Thrift Shop V.

I've got an empty cart… let's go fill it!

I’ve got an empty cart… let’s go fill it!

Being a dutiful freelancer, the first kiosk I visit is the Grumble, Grumble kiosk.  (O.K., being a dutiful freelancer with ADD, the first kiosk I visited was actually WoW Skins, but only because they are my favorite skin supplier and I stumbled across it while I was still looking for the Grumble, Grumble booth.  I didn’t stay long, so it doesn’t count.)  There are five items for sale at Grumble’s stand this round, each of them offered in four to six color combos, and each of them 35 L$.

First off, there is the Soho strapless shirt.  This mesh shirt comes in the standard sizes and is available in six cute, flowery patterns.  Second is the soho mini skirt.  This mesh skirt features a slightly wider waist with a very cute leather lace-up in front and one of five solid colors for the slightly ruffled skirt.  I’m demoing the teal in this article, and I throw one of the orange skirts into my cart.  (It’s more of a burnt orange than a bright orange and will be great, I think, in autumn outfits.)  Thirdly, is the drama queen mesh tube top. Again, this is one of the items I chose to demo for this article.  The fit and cut of the tube top is very similar to the atti’tube’ tops that debuted for the Gotta Gacha event, but these also include matching arm warmers.  (I’m not claiming credit for that, but I will point out that when I wore my ‘You Stupid Fucking Whore’ atti’tube’ top for a recent Grumble post, I did some similar accessorizing with some wrist bands I had in my inventory.  Great minds think alike.)  All four are awesome, but I think the one I like best is the one that commands “Don’t mess with the princess.” so I throw one of those in my cart also.  Fourth is arguably the best bargain of the booth, a super cute zig-zag dress, a short mesh dress in a pattern of white and fill in the blank zig zags, where the blank can be filled in with grey, brown, pink, or blue.  Finally, the Soho Sash swimsuit is a mesh halter one piece with a racy neckline that is perfect for looking gorgeous at the beach.

By the way, if you are like my firsty, you may wonder what exactly makes the Soho look the Soho look.  Soho is a neighborhood in Manhattan, once filled with galleries and bohemian starving artists, now increasingly pricy and upscale.  Several internet sites claimed the name comes from the fact that district is located SOuth of HOuston street, but given that London also has a famous soho district of immigrants and clubs dating back to the seventeenth century, I personally take that explanation with a grain of salt.  Regardless, I found some convenient tips and explanation of Soho chic here.  The key component is that the soho look is created with an eclectic mix of high-end and vintage fashions, fairly basic but colorfully and aggressively accessorized.  Being a big fan of accessorizing, I approve.

Or maybe I should just put one of everything in my cart...

Or maybe I should just put one of everything in my cart…

The Grumble kiosk also has the display signs for three gachas Grumble brought to the event.  I don’t need to repeat how much I like the atti’tube top.  Today I gave in and payed until I got the SL_T top I wanted.  (I got lucky, I only ended up with one duplicate before I got it.)  The spiked hair bands are also very, very cute.  The boy-style briefs… yeah, not so much.  I have a sponsor-sponsored relationship with Grumble because I like their products.  It’s generally very easy to create a look I like using products from Grumble and to say good things about what Grumble has to offer customers.  The boy-style briefs are that rarity, a Grumble product that falls completely flat.  Hopefully, someone will return to drawing board on this one…

Don't forget!  Gotta get yer gachas!

Don’t forget! Gotta get yer gachas!

Anyway, before I go, let me throw one more thought/song at you.  I was listening to Pandora while I was writing and just heard this song, an awesome cover of Peter Schillings’ “Major Tom” by Shiny Toy Guns, so I figured I should find a copy online and share it.  Now I’m going to check out the other booths at the Thrift shop.  Hopefully I’ll be back soon!

Comments
  1. […] I’M WEARING: I had so much fun covering Thrift Shop 5 for Grumble, Grumble, (My last post, shame on you if you missed it!), that I hung out and made a few more purchases.  Then it was time to pop home, change my look, […]

Leave a Reply

