… ‘Cuz I’m A Nice Girl….

Posted: July 19, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
Welcome to my… well, to someone else's parlor really...

Welcome to my… well, to someone else’s parlor really…

WHAT I’M WEARING: Inspired by the music I was listening to today, I decided to dress like a nice girl.  No goth-punk for me today, no sir!  So here’s my nice girl style card:

  • Shape: Teen Katie (Wk 20) by Cukabebe.  (Matt tells me I still barely show, but I’m starting to feel self conscious about being preggers.)
  • Skin: Bella Pale from *JStyle
  • Tattoos: (O.k.  Maybe a little bit of punk.) Leg Tattoo from Grunge Ink, Chest Tattoo from Orsini
  • Hair: Jace from Tameless Hair.  (Not only cute, not only color changing, but also new!  This is one of the items I bought on my visit to the Naughty Nitch Fashion Fair.)
  • Outfit: Gingham Vixen by Knockers.  (The tied blouse and cut off shorts and pocket bandana.  Very cute.  Very nice girl.)  Socks out of a Pajama set from Charm.  White sneakers from *JStyle.
  • Accessories: Red Bangles from *JStyle; Spiked Teal Headband from Grumble, Grumble; Pink Chain Collar from Pekka.

See.  This is what a nice girl wears.

Exploring Body Mansion: if you don't mind the corpses, it's a lovely place to shop...

Exploring Body Mansion: if you don’t mind the corpses, it’s a lovely place to shop…

WHERE I’M AT:  I got a notice from one of my groups (and I’m a bad blogger because I didn’t note which group) about the Month of Games, a game-themed fashion event being held in Black Veil.  So I said to myself, “Myself,” says I, “I like games.  I like fashion.  I should check this out.”  It’s fun and it’s cute and I’m glad I came by.

I don’t have as much to say about this event since I’m just here as a consumer, not as a sponsored journalist.  Likewise, I didn’t buy as much- not only are many of the products pricier than I normally spend, but with no sponsor backing me, my shoestring budget is more of a factor.  I did spot a couple neat finds, however, and I would definitely recommend visiting.

Candyland: A prideful rainbow of pretty colors?

Candyland: A prideful rainbow of pretty colors?

WHAT’S ON MY MIND: Meanwhile, in my mailbox was a notice from a photographer looking for models.  The photographer, whom I shall not name here, was offering free photo sessions, with the intent of a. building a portfolio of his work and/or b. getting models to show up in support of Stand4Love.  You may ask (I did) what Stand4Love is about.  Since there is a blog, I went ahead and visited their site, Stand4Love.Wordpress.Com to learn more.  The essence of what I learned is this quote: STAND 4 LOVE is an awareness charity project to promote the visibility and rights of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Straight loving couples to have the right to marry and be recognized by the law across the world. It will be a picture campaign in Second Life to spread awareness and promote equality and tolerance.

I’m unexpectedly torn by this project.  On one hand, I do believe that same-sex couples deserve equal rights and protection under the law as their more conventional counterparts.  I’ve witnessed enough examples of unfairness- partners unable to see each other in the hospital, survivors whose partners have died losing their residence because they are legally classed as ‘roommates’ or ‘tenants’ rather than ‘spouses’, employees mocked and ridiculed by a business owner for their private lives, etc.- that I share a sense of outrage with the LGBT community.  Taking a pretty picture to show some support for fairness, tolerance, and equality is a simple enough thing to do.  On the other hand, I would say I mostly rather than totally agree with the premises behind the project.  My differences are philosophical and abstract, but then again, I am philosophical and abstract so I hesitate to undercut my own beliefs.  I suspect I may return to this subject to mull it deeper in the near future.

A beautiful dress I can't afford… I feel like Cinderella being told she can't go to the ball...

A beautiful dress I can’t afford… I feel like Cinderella being told she can’t go to the ball…

WHAT’S ON MY RADIO: Well, as always, my musical tastes are fairly eclectic, but here are a few of the songs I jammed too while writing this post… The Katie Armiger song ‘Nice Girl‘ was playing and inspired me while I was putting my style card together for this post.  I also looked for a few more ‘nice girl’ songs on my iPod and found ‘Wouldn’t it be Nice‘ by the Beach Boys, Carrie Underwood’s ‘Good Girl‘, and ‘Good Girls go to Heaven‘ by Brooks & Dunn.  On the other hand, I fearlessly go everywhere while I blog, so I may not be the good girl I claim.  With that in mind, I’ll say farewell with the classic Alice Cooper ode

 

Leave a Reply

