Mourning for Morning’s Sake…

Posted: September 3, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,
"The only problem with morning is it comes too damn early in the day"

“Morning is wonderful.  Its only drawback is that it comes at such an inconvenient time of day”– Glen Cook, Sweet Silver Blues

I laughed a little bit when I saw this recent Daily Post prompt: “How often do you get to (or have to) be awake for sunrise? Tell us about what happened the last time you were up so early (or late…).”

I’m a waitress and a bartender.  Morning is something that happens to other people.  Morning is a dirty word.  Morning is the devil.  No, really.  The name Lucifer, which we all use as the devil’s proper name, actually comes from latin and translates as light-bringing, and as a noun generally referred to the morning star, the planet Venus seen just before daybreak.  The implication (to me, anyway) is clear: God enjoys his sleep, and bringing day, ending that period of peace and tranquility, is an act of evil and rebellion against God.  Sure, once upon a time when I was a little kid, I was a morning person.  But I grew out of that habit, just like I am now potty-trained and say “please” and “thank you”.

“Mornings are like almost clean slates. I say almost clean because the residue of yesterdays is sometimes stuck on them.”  ― Medeia Sharif, Bestest. Ramadan. Ever.

“Mornings are like almost clean slates. I say almost clean because the residue of yesterdays is sometimes stuck on them.”
― Medeia Sharif, Bestest. Ramadan. Ever.

I live a life where, unless I’m blessed with a rare night off, I get home between midnight and two a.m.  I then need to fix myself some supper and let my mind crash.  The mind crash is essential.  My mind naturally tends to run at very high rpms; it’s part of the mixed blessing that is ADD.  Because Giovanni’s is so busy, every shift is six to eight hours of stimulus, so I generally come home with my body and soul weary but my brain cranked to maximum.  Generally I nuke something or go through a drive through that’s open late, and eat in front of the oldest show stored on my DVR.  Ruthlessly fast forwarding through the commercials allows me to watch an hour show in forty-five to forty-eight minutes, and by show’s end, my mind has reached a curious place.  On one hand, television generally has a numbing effect on the processing portion of my mind: stories just passively wash over my awareness with much less active engagement and thought than the same story as a book.  On the other hand, there is a growing body of research that suggests the light from an electric screen, be it smart phone, computer, or television, stimulates something in the nervous system that interferes with sound sleep.  So by show’s end, my brain’s engine is running at a lower speed, but my body is no longer ready to crash.  So I generally dim the lights and curl up on my futon with a paperback or my ideas journal and let my nervous system slow back down until I drift off to sleep.  The whole process, from arriving home to falling asleep, takes almost two hours, and that’s assuming I come home tired and ready to sleep.  Some nights I still feel so frisky that I go ahead and do something- laundry, cleaning, write some poetry, whatever, before I start the two-hour awake to asleep transformation.  So I generally get to sleep between two-thirty and four-thirty, usually around three.  I generally try to get to bed early on my nights off; I feel like my sleep pattern is unhealthy.  One night every week or two, however, isn’t enough to really change things, so an ‘early’ night is getting to sleep by one a.m.  When I have to work a lunch shift, I have to be up by ten thirty, but generally I wait until the right side of noon to wake up.

quote here

“Rise early.  It is the early bird that catches the worm.  Don’t be fooled by this absurd saw; I once knew a man who tried it.  He got up at sunrise and a horse bit him.”  –Mark Twain

So the last time I saw a sunrise?  Um, with or without wind lights?  That is one of the joys of my life as me… by focusing my will and my wind lights, I can create a beautiful sunrise where ever and when ever I happen to be.  Every picture I took for today’s gallery has been at sunrise, with the rising sun visible behind me.  Even the picture I took in the surreal sim of Two Fish Too, where normally there is no sun, just an ambient glow.  The last time I saw a sunrise without wind lights, well that’s harder to remember.  I guess it would have to be  winter two years ago when, since my brother, his friend Norm, and his partner Alec were all unavailable, my dad dragged me along on his annual exercise in sado-masicism known as the Marik winter fishing trip.  Ice fishing.  Not traveling south and east towards warmth and water, but north west into the land the sun forgot.  We were on the road by five in the morning.  So sunrise occurred at some point while we passed through Indiana, I must have seen it through squinting bloodshot eyes, but I cannot tell you anything about it.  Blah.

"Never work before breakfast; if you have to work before breakfast, eat your breakfast first."  --Josh Billings

“Never work before breakfast; if you have to work before breakfast, eat your breakfast first.” –Josh Billings

I dressed up rather formal to go questing for sunrises… These pictures are actually coming home late, not heading out early.  Still, here’s the style card:

  • Shape: Nina, Month 7 from Baby Bumps. (Mrs. Firsty is just rounding the corner into her third trimester.  Yay!)
  • Skin: Salma from WoW Skins.
  • Tattoo: Psychedelic from Infected.
  • Hair: Miss Mess in Emerald Green, source unknown freebie.
  • Dress: Ayla Ballroom Gown, green, from LC’s World of Fashion.
  • Jewelry: Necklace and earrings from JKTrend‘s Cotton Candy set; source unknown lip ring.
Leave a Reply

